r2 - 16 Jan 2008 - 01:22:42 - AnterElazabYou are here:  Main Web > ConferenceInfo > SymposiaInfo > SymposiumNine

Symposium 9: Elasticity to atomistics: predictive modeling of defect behavior

Honoring Professor David J. Bacon on the occasion of his retirement from the University of Liverpool


Yury N. Osetskiy, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Ron O. Scattergood, North Carolina State University

Anna M. Serra, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain

Roger E. Stoller, Oak Ridge National Laboratory


This symposium is held in honor of Professor David J. Bacon, Department of Engineering, University of Liverpool, United Kingdom, on the occasion of his planned retirement. Since receiving his Ph.D. in Metals Physics from the University of London in 1965, David has conducted research in the Theoretical Physics Division at the AERE Harwell Laboratory, the Materials Science Division at the Argonne National Laboratory, and the University of Liverpool where he joined the academic staff in 1967 and became Professor of Materials Science in 1987. He has served the University as Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, Head of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and Head of the Department of Engineering. His research methods have run the gamut from continuum elasticity to detailed atomistic simulations and the results of his research have made a major contribution to our fundamental understanding of defect physics in materials. His work was recognized by the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining as their 2005 recipient of the Griffith Medal and Prize in recognition of distinguished work which has made a notable contribution to materials science. In addition to carrying out his own research, David has enhanced the field of materials science by mentoring many graduate students and post-doctoral fellows and developing an impressive array of international collaborators. He served as an Associate Editor of Philosophical Magazine from 1989 to 2002 and is on the Editorial Board of the Journal of Nuclear Materials. David is the author or co-author of more than 250 research papers, and the co-author (with Derek Hull) of the extensively used reference and textbook “Introduction to Dislocations.”

The speakers of this symposium are invited to present theoretical, computational, and/or experimental contributions in one of the following areas:

  • Dislocation dynamics and plasticity
  • Radiation effects in materials
  • Primary radiation damage in materials
  • Microstructural effects on the mechanics of materials
  • Methods of multiscale modeling

Contact Information of Symposium Organizers

Yury N. Osetskiy (Symposium Chair)

Materials Science and Technology Division
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
P.O. Box 2008
Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6138, USA
Tel: 865-576-3254, Fax: 865-241-3650

Ron O. Scattergood

Department of Materials Science and Engineering
North Carolina State University
Campus Box 7907
Raleigh, NC 27695, USA
Tel: 919-515-7843, Fax: 919-515-7724

Anna M. Serra

Dept. de Matematica Aplicada III
Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya
Gran Capital, s/n E-08034
Barcelona, SPAIN
Tel: 34-93-401-6886, Fax: 34-401-1825

Roger E. Stoller

Materials Science and Technology Division
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
P.O. Box 2008
Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6138, USA
Tel: 865-576-7886, Fax: 865-241-3650